Mr Dickens and What Are You Reading Wednesday

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Mr Dickens and His Carol - What are you reading Wednesday on Reading List


Christmas is HERE

Well practically...

Are you super excited?

Can you tell I am?

While I technically just finished today's book, I had to share it today because of the fun of Christmas...


Are you a fan of A Christmas Carol?

Charles Dickens??

I'll be honest, I totally am... but The Muppets Christmas might have the most memorable version in my memory...


Mr Dickens and His Carol - What are you reading Wednesday on Reading List



Anyway, I picked up this one because some of my favorite girls wanted to read it together for the month.  And it was not quite what I expected...



Where This Idea Came From...

The idea is that each week all of us book bloggers can write a post where we talk about the book or books we are reading for the week - and yes if you are still reading the same book for a few weeks in a row that is totally fine.  Just be sure to include the answers to the five questions for What are you reading Wednesday in your post.  Then hop over to one of the host sites and share your link!

Of course, this will be even more fun if you leave the host a comment, and then jump around to another post or two, or five, and gush with them!

We cannot wait to see what you are reading.



What Are You Reading Wednesday - the nitty-gritty

Share the book/s you are reading with their author, maybe even the cover... and then answer these questions for at least one of them.
  1. Why did you decide to pick up this book - cover or content?
  2. Who is your favorite character so far, and why?
  3. Will you finish this one?
  4. Finish the sentence:  This book reminds me of... (other books, movies, TV shows...)
  5. What type of read is this one? (slow but interesting, cannot put it down,...)

What are you reading Wednesday book blogger meme



Marissa's Current Reads

I've had a busy week... so not much has happened in the actual reading department....

  • Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer
  • The Tethered Mage by Melissa Caruso 
  • Clockwork Angel  by Cassandra Clare
  • The Afterlife of Holly Chase by Cynthia Hand


Mr. Dickens and His Carol by Samantha Silva

For Charles Dickens, each Christmas has been better than the last. His novels are literary blockbusters, and he is famous on the streets of London, where avid fans sneak up on him to snip off pieces of his hair. He and his wife have five happy children, a sixth on the way, and a home filled with every comfort they could imagine. But when Dickens’ newest book is a flop, the glorious life he has built for himself threatens to collapse around him. His publishers offer an ultimatum: either he writes a Christmas book in a month, or they will call in his debts, and he could lose everything. Grudgingly, he accepts, but with relatives hounding him for loans, his wife and children planning an excessively lavish holiday party, and jealous critics going in for the kill, he is hardly feeling the Christmas spirit. 

Increasingly frazzled and filled with self-doubt, Dickens seeks solace and inspiration in London itself, his great palace of thinking. And on one of his long walks, in a once-beloved square, he meets a young woman in a purple cloak, who might be just the muse he needs. Eleanor Lovejoy and her young son, Timothy, propel Dickens on a Scrooge-like journey through his Christmases past and present—but with time running out, will he find the perfect new story to save him? 

In prose laced with humor, sumptuous Victorian detail, and charming winks to A Christmas Carol, Samantha Silva breathes new life into an adored classic. Perfect for fans of Dickens, for readers of immersive historical fiction, and for anyone looking for a dose of Christmas cheer, Mr. Dickens and His Carol is destined to become a perennial holiday favorite.


Why did you decide to pick up this book - cover or content?

Alright, so the cover is super fun, but the idea of the story is what drove us - my lovely book buddies who agree to find a way to read a book together every month.  The idea of how A Christmas Carol might have come into existence was too fun not to pick up. 

Who is your favorite character so far, and why?

There are not many to pick from... Mr Dickens pretty much takes up all the scenes... I mean I guess Elenanor Lovejoy was a different and unexpected character... to a point...

Will you finish this one?

I actually already did... it's super fast, I mean really fast...

Finish the sentence:  This book reminds me of... (other books, movies, TV shows...)

I can see the reference to Shakespeare in Love because of the twist of history, and the accents... but for the most part this was just a historical fiction that was based on one real person, and then completely imagined...

What type of read is this one? (slow but interesting, cannot put it down,...)

It was really fast.  There are some twists, but nothing too surprising... if you're a fan of Hallmark Christmas movies, you will probably enjoy this quick read.





Co-hosts to check out




Share your link & check out some friends current reads









So Rainbow Rowell is extremely popular for YA contemporary, and this is my first book of hers.  I'd love to hear your thoughts on YA contemporaries and/or Rainbow Rowel....


Mr Dickens and His Carol - What are you reading Wednesday on Reading List











***Oh and a small note about the link up - please leave a bookish link.  I would love to hear about what you are currently reading. If you want to answer these five questions great!  If you'd rather just share about what you are reading, I'm up for that too.  If you have a question, feel free to ask it!***



In case you are now thinking you need this book in your life, consider using one of the links below. These are my affiliate links, which means if you decide to click on it, and then buy something, I'll get a little tiny commission from it, but it won't actually cost you anything.  But I'll be so grateful!





You Might Also Like

2 comments

  1. This sounds like the perfect read for Christmas! I may look into reading it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Alright so I have to be honest, I finally finished and those last 50 pages.. no real surprise... I'm not sure I would rush out for this one... ;)

      Delete

I love comments!!

Let me know what you thought of this one... don't forget to share your blog link so I can stop by!

Like me on Facebook